CfP: 7th Workshop on Intelligent Narrative Technologies (INT)7

The Intelligent Narrative Technologies (INT) workshop series aims to advance research in artificial intelligence for the computational understanding, expression, and creation of narrative. Previous installments of this workshop have brought together a multidisciplinary group of researchers such as computer scientists, psychologists, narrative theorists, media theorists, artists, and members of the interactive entertainment industry. From this broad expertise, the INT series focuses on computational systems to represent, reason about, adapt, author, and perform interactive and non-interactive narrative experiences.

June 17-18, 2014, Milwaukee, WI
Submission Deadline: March 3, 2014

url: http://int7.westphal.drexel.edu/?page_id=8
registration: http://conference.eliterature.org/conference-registration


(INT)7, the seventh workshop in the series, will highlight both the computational and aesthetic aspects of narrative systems and the narrative experiences they create. It will be co-located with the 2014 Electronic Literature Organization Conference (ELO 2014) in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. ELO is the most significant international organization and conference series for creators and scholars of digital fiction, poetry, and drama. By co-locating with ELO we hope to create an opportunity for greater awareness between the two communities. INT work can be strengthened by awareness of the challenges and goals of authors creating a wide variety of computational literary works, as well as the models being developed by scholars of this work. The ELO community can be strengthened by greater awareness of the types of basic research undertaken and experimental systems created by the INT community, broadening conceptions of the field and imaginations of its possible futures. It is possible th!

at co-location may even result in identifying potential collaborations between members of the two communities.

• Computational (interactive) narrative systems and applications
• Story generation
• Emergent narrative systems including simulations, agents, and multi-agent systems
• Computational creativity in narrative systems
• Cognitive theories, models, and systems for narrative
• Story understanding
• Models of narrative genres, styles, and techniques
• Believable characters
• Virtual and embodied conversational agents as characters
• Affect and emotional modeling
• Natural language generation and understanding for narrative
• Computational discourse analysis techniques
• Automatic character dialog
• AI for discourse control such as text, graphic art, and camera control
• Narrative presence and immersion in virtual environments
• User interaction for interactive narrative applications
• Narrative authoring tools
• Computational narrative applications in serious games such as learning and health
• Evaluation and research methods
• Complete (interactive) narrative systems and user studies
• Computational models of poetics, narrative theories, and craft knowledge from narrative creators
• Interdisciplinary collaboration models for interactive narrative research

We invite submissions of full papers (6 pages plus 1 page of references) describing completed or ongoing relevant research. Short papers (3 pages plus 1 page of references), demo proposals (1 page) and Panel proposals (1 page) may also be submitted. Speakers in the panel proposal should be already confirmed upon submission. Position papers are welcome.

Paper submissions will be reviewed by an interdisciplinary program committee from both the INT and ELO communities. In addition to the traditional INT submissions, we encourage submissions that address, together, both the computational and aesthetic aspects of computational narrative. We especially welcome artistic, theoretical, and design-focused works that aim to be in dialogue with the INT community.

All accepted papers will be published in the INT 7 workshop technical report by the AAAI Press. Submissions must be anonymized for double blind reviews and formatted according to AAAI guidelines.

Vadim Bulitko, University of Alberta
Marc Cavazza, University of Teesside
Ronan Champagnat, L3i – Universite de La Rochelle
Fred Charles, Teesside University, School of Computing
Yun-Gyung Cheong, IT University of Copenhagen
Chris Crawford, Storytron
Rossana Damiano, Università di Torino
David Elson, Columbia University
Mark Finlayson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Pablo Gervás, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
Andrew Gordon, University of Southern California
Eun Ha, North Carolina State University
Catherine Havasi, MIT Media Lab
Rania Hodhod, University of York
Ido Aharon Iurgel, CCG Centro de Computação Gráfica
Deirdra Kiai, Deirdra Kiai Productions
James Lester, North Carolina State University
Sandy Louchart, Heriot-Watt University
Benedikt Löwe, Universiteit van Amsterdam
Brian Magerko, Georgia Institute of Technology
Alex Mitchell, Department of Communications and New Media, National University of Singapore
Nick Montfort, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Erik Mueller, IBM Research
Jeff Orkin, MIT
Julie Porteous, Teesside University
Stefan Rank, Drexel University
Aaron Reed, University of California, Santa Cruz
Mark Riedl, Georgia Institute of Technology
David Roberts, North Carolina State University
Rémi Ronfard, INRIA , Université de Grenoble
Jonathan Rowe, North Carolina State University
Marielaure Ryan, Independent Scholar
Emily Short, Independent
Mei Si, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI)
Anne Sullivan, University of California, Santa Cruz
Kaoru Sumi, Future University Hakodate
Reid Swanson, UC Santa Cruz
Nicolas Szilas, TECFA-FPSE, University of Geneva
Joshua Tanenbaum, Simon Fraser University
Emmett Tomai, University of Texas – Pan American
Zach Tomaszewski, University of Hawaii
Marilyn Walker, UCSC
Stephen Ware, North Carolina State University
Peter Weyhrauch, Charles River Analytics
Nelson Zagalo, University of Minho
Fabio Zambetta, RMIT University
Alexander Zook, Georgia Institute of Technology

Become a DiGRA Member

Join the premier international association for professionals, academics, developers and other individuals interested in the evolving fields of digital gaming and game studies.