CfP: NetGames 2013, Dec 9-10, Denver CO, USA

The 12th Annual Workshop on Network and Systems Support for Games
(NetGames 2013) will be held in Denver, CO, USA on December 9th-10th,
2013. NetGames brings together researchers and practitioners from academia
and industry across the globe to present their latest research on the
challenges of today’s networked games, and to further understand the
requirements and explore the possibilities of future generations of
networked games. NetGames will also have an industry keynote and panel
discussions with participants from both academia and industry.


Important Dates:
Full/short paper deadline: July 30, 2013
Demo submission deadline: August 30, 2013
Notification of decisions: September 10, 2013
Registration of final papers: September 24, 2013
Workshop dates: December 9-10, 2013


Submissions are solicited on all aspects of networked games, including
(but not limited to):
* Scalability, cloud support, client-server, P2P, and mobile architectures
* Efficient message distribution and network protocol design
* Latency issues and lag compensation techniques
* Network traffic and game modeling and measurements
* System benchmarking, performance evaluation, and provisioning
* Operating system enhancements, service platforms, and middleware
* Massively Multiplayer Online Gaming (MMOG)
* Multiplayer usability and user behavior studies
* Personal communications and conferencing in games
* Mobile games, resource-constrained systems, and context-based adaptation
* Networks of sensors and actuators, networked haptics
* Quality of service, quality of experience, and content adaptation
* Dynamic and user-generated content authoring and management
* Content creation: non-linear storytelling, object capturing,
algorithmic creation
* Security, authentication, accounting and digital rights management
* Cheat detection and prevention
* Social networking in multiplayer games

NetGames 2013 welcomes full papers to be presented in the single-track
program, extended abstracts reporting work-in-progress to be presented
with a poster during the poster and demo session, and demos showing
original research prototypes.

Reviews will be single-blind; authors must include their names and
affiliations on the first page. Papers should not be under review at
another venue nor previously published elsewhere. Submission of a paper
for review will be considered your agreement that at least one author will
register and attend the workshop if your paper is accepted.

All accepted papers will be archived in both the ACM Digital Library and
IEEE Xplore.

Formats: All papers must be submitted according to the IEEE Conference
Proceedings format with the following lengths:

Full papers: 6 pages
Extended abstracts (short papers): 2 pages
Demo: 3 pages
Workshop Chair:
Chris GauthierDickey, University of Denver, CO, USA
Technical Program Committee (TBC):
Maha Abdallah, Pierre and Marie Curie University, France
Dewan T. Ahmed, University of Ottawa, Canada
Surendar Chandra, EMC Backup Recovery Systems Division, USA
Kuan-Ta Chen, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Wu-chang Feng, Portland State University, USA
Steven Gianvecchio, MITRE Corp., USA
Carsten Griwodz, Simula Research Laboratory, Norway
Shun-Yun Hu, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Alexandru Iosup, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Yutaka Ishibashi, Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan
Ketan Mayer-Patel, University of North Carolina at Chapell Hill, USA
Ali Asghar Nazari Shirehjini, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Timo Ojala, University of Oulu, Finland
Wei Tsang Ooi, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Gabor Papp, Microsoft Corporation, USA
Daniel Pittman, Lockheed Martin, USA
Shervin Shirmohammadi, University of Ottawa, Canada
Ruck Thawonmas, Ritsumeikan University, Japan
Jeff Yan, University of Newcastle, UK
Sebastian Zander, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Steering Committee:
Maha Abdallah, Pierre and Marie Curie University, France
Grenville Armitage, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Adrian Cheok, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Mark Claypool, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
Carsten Griwodz, Simula Research Laboratory, Norway
Tristan Henderson, University of St Andrews, UK
Sugih Jamin, University of Michigan, USA
Shervin Shirmohammadi, University of Ottawa, Canada
Lars Wolf, Technische Universität Braunschweig, Germany

Become a DiGRA Member

Join the premier international association for professionals, academics, developers and other individuals interested in the evolving fields of digital gaming and game studies.