CfP: NetGames 2014 (Nagoya, Japan)

The 13th Annual Workshop on Network and Systems Support for Games (NetGames 2014) will be held at Nagoya Institute of Technology, Nagoya, Japan on December 4th-5th, 2014. NetGames brings together researchers and practitioners from academia and industry across the globe to present their latest research on the challenges of today’s networked games, and to further understand the requirements and explore the possibilities of future generations of networked games. NetGames will also have a keynote and panel discussions with participants (or invited talks) from both academia and industry.
NetGames 2014
The 13th Annual Workshop on Network and Systems Support for Games
Nagoya, Japan, December 4th-5th, 2014
In cooperation with ACM SIGCOMM and ACM SIGMM
Technically co-sponsored by the IEEE Communications Society
Submissions are solicited on all aspects of networked games, including (but not limited to):
– Scalability, cloud support, client-server, P2P, and mobile architectures
– Efficient message distribution and network protocol design
– Latency issues and lag compensation techniques
– Network traffic measurement and modeling
– System benchmarking, performance evaluation, and provisioning
– Operating system enhancements, service platforms, and middleware
– Massively Multiplayer Online Gaming (MMOG)
– Multiplayer usability and user behavior studies
– Personal communications and conferencing in games
– Mobile games, resource-constrained systems, and context-based adaptation
– Quality of service, quality of experience, and system/content adaptation
– Dynamic and user-generated content authoring and management
– Security, authentication, accounting and digital rights management
– Cheat detection and prevention
– Social networking in multiplayer games
– Data analytics and visualization support for game research
NetGames 2014 welcomes full papers to be presented in the single-track program, extended abstracts reporting work-in-progress to be presented with a poster during the poster and demo session, and demos showing original research prototypes.
Reviews will be single-blind; authors must include their names and affiliations on the first page. Papers should not be under review at another venue nor previously published elsewhere. Submission of a paper for review will be considered your agreement that at least one author will register and attend the workshop if your paper is accepted.
Papers accepted for NetGames 2014 will be included in the Workshop Proceedings, the ACM Digital Library, and IEEE XPlore, with the exception that IEEE reserves the right to exclude any paper from distribution after the conference (e.g., removal from IEEE Xplore and the ACM Digital Library) if the paper is not presented at the conference.
All papers must be submitted according to the IEEE Conference Proceedings format with the following length limit.
– Full papers: 6 pages
– Extended abstracts (short papers): 3 pages
– Demo: 3 pages
Important Dates
– Full/Short Paper Submission: August 22, 2014
– Demo Paper Submission: September 19, 2014
– Notification of Decision: October 3, 2014
– Registration/Final Paper Due: October 17, 2014
General Co-Cairs:
   Yutaka Ishibashi (Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan)
   Adrian D. Cheok (City University London, UK)
Program Co-Cairs:
   Dai Hanawa (Nagoya City University, Japan)
   Kuan-Ta Chen (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
Program Committee Members:
   Maha Abdallah (Pierre and Marie Curie University, France)
   Grenville Armitage (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia)
   Mark Claypool (Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA)
   Wolfgang Effelsberg (University of Mannheim, Germany)
   Wu-chang Feng (Portland State University, USA)
   Stefano Ferretti (University of Bologna, Italy)
   Hiroshi Fujinoki (Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, USA)
   Chris GauthierDickey (University of Denver, USA)
   Steven Gianvechio (MITRE Corporation, USA)
   Carsten Griwodz (University of Oslo / Simula Research Laboratory, Norway)
   Richard Hsiao (Gamania Inc., Taiwan)
   Shun-Yun Hu (Imonology Inc,. Taiwan)
   Pingguo Huang (Tokyo University of Science, Japan)
   Alexandru Iosup (TU Delft, Netherlands)
   Yoshihiro Kawano (Tokyo University of Information Sciences, Japan)
   JongWon Kim (Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, Korea)
   Takanori Miyoshi (Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan)
   Asako Ohno (Osaka Sangyo University, Japan)
   Shusuke Okamoto (Seikei University, Japan)
   Wei Tsang Ooi (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
   Juyong Park (KAIST, Korea)
   Andreas Petlund (Simula Research Laboratory, Norway)
   Kostas E. Psannis (University of Macedonia, Greece)
   Abdennour El Rhalibi (Liverpool John Moores University, UK)
   Marco Roccetti (University of Bologna, Italy)
   Gregor Schiele (Digital Enterprise Research Institute, Ireland)
   Shervin Shirmohammadi (University of Ottawa, Canada)
   Mark Mu-Chi Sung (Zillians Inc., Taiwan)
   Ruck Thawonmas (Ritsumeikan University, Japan)
   Hiromi Ueda (Tokyo University of Technology,Japan)
   Keiichi Yasumoto (Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan)
   Tetsuya Yokotani (Mitsubishi Electric Corporation, Japan)
   Hideaki Yoshino (Nippon Institute of Technology, Japan)
Publication Chair:
   Shinji Sugawara (Chiba Institute of Technology, Japan)
Financial Chair:
   Toshiro Nunome (Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan)
Local Arrangement Chair:
   Norishige Fukushima (Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan)
Steering Committee:
   Maha Abdallah (Pierre and Marie Curie University, France)
   Grenville Armitage (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia)
   Adrian D. Cheok (City University London, UK)
   Mark Claypool (Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA)
   Carsten Griwodz (University of Oslo / Simula Research Laboratory, Norway)
   Tristan Henderson (University of St Andrews, UK)
   Sugih Jamin (University of Michigan, USA)
   Shervin Shirmohammadi (University of Ottawa, Canada)
   Lars Wolf (Technische Universitat Braunschweig, Germany)

Become a DiGRA Member

Join the premier international association for professionals, academics, developers and other individuals interested in the evolving fields of digital gaming and game studies.