CFP: The 10th Workshop on Intelligent Narrative Technologies (INT10)

The 10th Workshop on Intelligent Narrative Technologies (INT10)
Co-located with the 13th AAAI Conference on Artificial Intelligence and Interactive Digital Entertainment (AIIDE) October 5-9, 2017, Snowbird, UT, USA
Important dates
Submission deadline: July 5, 2017
Notification of acceptance: August 1, 2017
Camera ready: August 21, 2017
INT10 workshop: October 5-6, 2017
Call for papers
The Intelligent Narrative Technologies (INT) workshop represents the tenth iteration of a series of gatherings dedicated to advancing research in artificial intelligence for the computational understanding and expression of narrative. Our goal is to contribute to this forward momentum by congregating a multidisciplinary group of researchers and practitioners to share their latest work at the intersection of narrative and technology.
Previous editions of INT have been celebrated in conjunction with premium conferences on AI and entertainment, games and arts, such as ICIDS, ELO, FDG and AIIDE (INT9, http://icids2016.ict.usc.edu/about-int9/). INT10 will be celebrated as a workshop of the Thirteenth AAAI Conference on Artificial Intelligence and Interactive Digital Entertainment (AIIDE).
INT brings together computer scientists, psychologists, narrative theorists, media theorists, artists, writers, and members of the interactive entertainment industry. From this broad expertise, the workshop focuses on computational systems to represent, reason about, create, adapt, and perform interactive and non-interactive narrative experiences. This also includes fundamental research in relevant fields such as natural language processing, believable virtual characters, commonsense reasoning, computer vision, computational media, and human storytelling.
Topics of interests
Artificial intelligence for story generation and storytelling
Computational understanding, analysis, and summarization of narratives, including natural language processing and computer vision
Applications of intelligent narrative technologies, including education and healthcare
Drama management for interactive narratives and drama
Narrative discourse generation
Virtual cinematography for narratives
Virtual characters that converse, narrate, perform, and behave believably
Computable narrative models inspired by cognitive science, narratology, drama studies, and related disciplines
Narrative presence and engagement in virtual environments
Narrative-related affect and emotion
Narrative knowledge acquisition
Computational creativity in narrative systems
Authoring tools for intelligent narrative technologies, including collaborative authoring
Evaluation methods for intelligent narrative technologies
User studies and deployed intelligent narrative systems
Human-computer interaction with narrative technologies
Models and measures of engagement in interactive narrative
Interaction-oriented narrative annotation and narrative corpora
Paper submission
We invite submissions of Full papers describing completed or ongoing relevant research (6 pages plus 1 page of references); Short papers (3 pages plus 1 page of references), Demo proposals (1 page) and panel proposals (1 page) may be submitted (speakers in the panel proposal should be already confirmed upon submission). Position papers are also welcome.
The best reviewed full and short paper submissions will be accepted for oral presentation. Other submissions may be accepted as poster presentations. All accepted papers will be published in the INT10 workshop technical report by the AAAI Press.
Submissions must be anonymized for double blind reviews. Submissions should be formatted in AAAI two-column, camera-ready style (see the AAAI Press Author Kit: http://www.aaai.org/Publications/Templates/AuthorKit17.zip). and be submitted as PDF files via EasyChair (https://easychair.org/my/conference.cgi?conf=int10).
Organizing Committee
Julio Bahamon, UNC Charlotte
Rossana Damiano, Universita` di Torino (rossana@di.unito.it)
Riccardo Fassone, Universita` di Torino
Peter Mawhorter, MIT
Steven Poulakos, Disney Research
Justus Robertson, North Carolina State University
James Ryan, UC Santa Cruz
INT Steering Committee
Marc Cavazza, Teesside University
Ian Horswill, Northwestern University
Arnav Jhala, North Carolina State University
Brian Magerko, Georgia Institute of Technology
Mark Riedl, Georgia Institute of Technology
Dave Roberts, North Carolina State University
Jonathan Rowe, North Carolina State University
Mei Si, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
David Thue, Reykjavik University
Emmett Tomai, University of Texas – Pan American
Noah Wardrip-Fruin, University of California, Santa Cruz
Michael Young, University of Utah
Jichen Zhu, Drexel University
Program Committee
Alok Baikadi, North Carolina State University
Rogelio Cardona-Rivera, North Carolina State University
Marc Cavazza, University of Kent
Fred Charles, Bournemouth University
Mark Finlayson, Florida International University
Andrew Gordon, University of Southern California
Ian Horswill, Northwestern University
Arnav Jhala, North Carolina State University
James Lester, North Carolina State University
Benedikt Loewe, Universiteit van Amsterdam
Stephanie Lukin, University of California Santa Cruz
Brian Magerko, Georgia Institute of Technology
Chris Martens, NC State University
Alex Mitchell, National University of Singapore
Julie Porteous, Teesside University
Mark Riedl, Georgia Institute of Technology
Rémi Ronfard, Inria Grenoble
Reid Swanson, University of Southern California
David Thue, Reykjavik University
Stephen Ware, University of New Orleans
Jichen Zhu, Drexel University

Become a DiGRA Member

Join the premier international association for professionals, academics, developers and other individuals interested in the evolving fields of digital gaming and game studies.